Smile!

Today I attended a workshop on transforming your life through the power of meditation (yes, a full 6.5 hours of kiddy-free time!). I also dipped back into Thich Nhat Hanh’s ‘Peace Is Every Step – The Path of Mindfulness in Everyday Life’. Both have motivated me to concentrate on smiling more.  I think I’m generally a pretty smiley person, certainly with strangers and friends.  But I think I need to do a bit more smiling at and with those nearest and dearest to me, too.

If in our daily lives we can smile, if we can be peaceful and happy, not only we but everyone will profit from it…what better way to start the day than with a smile?  Our smile affirms our awareness and determination to live in peace and joy.  The source of a true smile is an awakened mind.

Thich Nhat Hanh

The author suggests hanging a reminder to smile on our wall, somewhere we will see it first thing each morning.  Here’s the reminder I’m coveting; its been saved in my Etsy favourites for such a long time simply because I liked it.  Now I have a pretty good reason to order one.

smile

Isn’t it so lovely?  What’s more, I didn’t realise that the artist, Kerry Layton, is also the author of the equally lovely blog Seventy Tree which I very recently discovered by way of the 52 Project.   This little unexpected connection made me smile!

One thought on “Smile!

Leave a Reply

