My latest crush

Imagination

I’ve a confession to make.  I have a crush.  I have a crush on someone who is probably almost the same age as my Dad and who I’m never likely to meet.  This is a full-on nerd-alert passion.  By immersing myself recently in learning all I can about unschooling, whilst simultaneously researching everything I can on child-led and child-initiated learning for our free school project, I have discovered the truly wonderful Sir Ken Robinson.  It would seem I’ve arrived very late in this respect.  His TED videos have been downloaded almost as many times as Gangnam Style (I was a latecomer to that phenomenon too, funnily enough).    I’ve found myself nodding and saying out loud, ‘yes, yes, YES!’ to the laptop screen when watching his talks.  I’ve trawled the internet for articles written by him or quoting him.  I’ve considered signing up for Twitter just so I can read his tweets.  I’ve ‘liked’ his Facebook page.  I’ve also stalked anything Sir Ken related on Pinterest, hence the rather lovely image above.  What he says makes me want to get in my car in the middle of the day and remove  Boy 1 from his classroom and bring him home and let the learning really start.  The school system is killing creativity and my boy is an out of the box thinker, he’s sensitive and creative.  Its simply a classic case of trying to fit a square peg into a very round hole and then suggesting that he’s the one with the issues.  So, Sir Ken, I’m sorry I found you so late but I’m very glad that I did.

In case you’re a latecomer to Ken Robinson’s lectures too, then this is a great one to start with.  But be warned; you may well develop a soft spot for what he is saying…

Leave a Reply

